Social media is becoming increasingly popular among all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

The popularity of social media is increasing among different age groups. People share their personal data on these websites which sometimes leads to misuse of this information. Though social networks help in developing cultural interaction and communication, the unauthenticated use of details remains a problem. I think the positive development will never overcome the drawbacks. This essay will explain the contents with examples in detail. On one hand, these social media improve the social life of the public. Firstly, it acts as a source for better communication. For example, A Facebook user from India can communicate to a user in Antarctica. They also develop better interaction in society, Secondly, they develop public interest in different cultures. Through online platforms,we come across users from different cultural background, where they share their activities. For instance, A Instagram user from China can share the cultural events happening in their country to individuals all over the world. Thus, attracting these crowd to know more about such festivals. On other hand, they also have certain drawbacks such as providing fake information and unauthorized usage of data. Firstly, most of the social media accounts are created using fake details which most of the time lead to problems. For exemplify, data shows that more than one- third of the Facebook accounts are fake which most of the times lead to criminal problems. Secondly, some of them claim that their account has been hacked and personal pictures are shared without their consent. For instance, Police records show that most of the case recorded in recent days related to cybercrime. In conclusion, social networks bring society together in an interactive medium but their disadvantages will never overcome its advantages. In my view, it is important to protect one’s personal information than developing their social interactions.