The best way for the government to reduce traffic congestion is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. Do you agree or disagree?

It is generally believed that if the government wants to bring down the traffic jams issue, the most effective solution is to deliver free communal transit such as buses and trains. In my view, I agree with the idea as it does help in loosening up the situation. Firstly, I believed that free public transport could reduce people's dependence on cars and improve the gridlock situation. Those who live outside the city centres tend to travel to work because there are no bus and train stations around the areas. Hence, the government should consider building the railway and the bus lane extended enough to cover all remote areas. Furthermore, buses can be given special lanes to avoid traffic. For instance, Japan has done an excellent job in their advanced metro system. Their stations are always teeming and busy, and trains and buses are always punctual. People seldom own a car, and they rely on communal transports. Secondly, the government should always raise an awareness campaign to promote the advantages of using free public transport. By doing so, people can break their mindset of public transportation being dirty, slow and unreliable. As long as more people know, the transport systems are well-designed, more comfortable and convenient; people will soon start using public transport. For example, Singapore has implemented 24/7 free public transport, and its roads are free of traffic. In conclusion, I firmly believe free transport will reduce congestion by promoting an awareness campaign and investment in buses and trains. Although it is an enormous task for the government to implement no-cost communal transit to the community, once the government implements it successfully, it will significantly impact everyone's life.