Some people say that modern innovations bring a lot more problems than benefits? Do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniably true that the present-day inventions have brought many changes. While some people believe that these inventions are causing more troubles than gains, I disagree and believe that the advantages of modern innovations outweigh disadvantages. This essay will discuss both opinions and provide support for my view. First and foremost, the latest technological advancements have changed the way we live, work and interact with our surroundings and it is true to some extent that these are responsible for making our lives more hectic. However, I feel that more than the innovation itself, it is its end usage which is causing problems. For example, social media phenomenon such as WhatsApp and Facebook help us stay connected and expand our social circles. But if we do not self-regulate the social media usage and stay invested round the clock, it affects our physical as well as mental well-being. Hence, the problematic effects of modern inventions can be attributed to usage rather than the advancements themselves and can be easily overcome by education and self-regulation. On the other hand, these new discoveries have helped us expand our physical and virtual reach many folds which has further proved very useful in the overall intellectual and academic growth of human beings. As an example, it is now earlier to travel abroad for education and leisure than it was a couple of years ago. Similarly, innovations like digital banking, online shopping etc. have made our routine tasks simpler and faster, leaving us with more time for better activities. Moreover, new inventions have brought big changes in many core professions such as medicine and education that have positive effects on the human race. In summary, the positives of modern changes outnumber the negatives and like any other phenomenon, can be handled to reap larger benefits.