Some people say that only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reason why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that more and more people are moving abroad for various reasons. Although it is believed by a few individuals that sole purpose of learning an alien language is travel or work abroad, I would agree with those who are of the view that there could be other reasons too. Firstly, it is important to consider that spending holidays and overseas employment are two primary reasons for many to upskill themself with a new tongue. For example,numerous people these days prefer to explore different cultures while holidaying to experience it first hand. Also, for many job seekers, some overseas countries offer them excellent employment opportunities because of their skills. Therefore, the argument goes that if they do not learn these languages, they might not be able to communicate with the locals. However, I believe studying abroad is another reason why many people want to acquire command over a new language. For instance, if an Indian student wants to study in the USA, having knowledge of English is a prerequisite. This is important because the primary mode of education in the USA is English, and it may help them to strike a conversation with their teachers. Moreover, they might be able to better understand the concepts and clear their doubts by communicating flawlessly with their professors. As a result,it can assist them in achieving improved grades. In conclusion, in my opinion, even though visiting a foreign nation and jobbing there are two crucial factors for the plethora of citizens to hone a new language, studying abroad is also a key point behind their choice.