Write about the following topic. Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is widely argued that there are adverse effects to children using computers daily, while some disagree to this point. In my opinion, even though PC's can be used to gather knowledge, there are more drawbacks to it like losing the power of the eye. Usage of computers in everyday life has tremendously increased as the internet is available abundantly and for a lesser price nowadays. Due to this, however, parents allow youth to sit in front of the PC for longer periods of time. Such activities cause the youngster to lose their eye-sight at a young age and wear powerful spectacles. Another major drawback is access to unrestricted websites, which may contain adult content that could corrupt a child's innocent mind. As an example, a recent survey conducted by the youth's Welfare Authority states that 45% of the kids lose eyesight due to being active in front of their home computers. Nevertheless, This can be supervised by an adult who should also ensure their kid's health. On the other hand, a home PC or laptop can be utilized to gather all the information required for children's schoolwork or projects. This enables them to get a familiarity with the working structure of a computer, which nowadays is the biggest tool in any office environment. Furthermore, if some content settings are blocked, a child may be unable to access unwanted websites. To add a personal example, during my childhood, our usage of the home desktop was controlled and very limited to ensure that it was only used for productive purposes. To conclude, even though children tend to get carried away with the latest features of a desk-PC, they can still be provided with a time-frame, utilized to gather information or knowledge. With such a regulation, they will not strain their eyes causing damage.