Obesity in children is a serious problem in a number of countries. What are the causes of obesity? Discuss the possible alarming effects of this problem in the near future?

In recent times, obesity amongst young children has become a growing concern across the globe. This has been a constant issue that the world has been grappling with and hence, needs immediate attention. This essay will discuss some of the major reasons that cause this problem along with the possible impact it might have on kids going forward. Firstly, some of the primary major causes that can lead to weight gain are lack of exercise, poor diet and inherent genetics. School children prefer eating fast food which is extremely unhealthy in the long run and leads to body fat. Furthermore, poor genetics or lack of physical activity also reduces metabolic rate in the body; which not only increases the fat percentage but also further leads to unhealthy weight gain. For instance, it is noticed that consumption of sugary drinks coupled with unhealthy eating patterns is highly popular amongst students during school hours which further causes obesity. On the other hand, obesity can also have physical and mental adverse effects on a child. Being overweight can lead to a number of health hazards such as high blood pressure, heart related problems and cholesterol amongst children at a very young age. Consequently, this phenomenon can also affect the mental state of a child’s mind by causing difficulties such as depression, inferiority complex or reduced memorizing ability. As a result, this not only leads to a disturbing environment for children, but also affects their academic progress. In conclusion, obesity across kids is a continuous challenge that many countries are dealing with and can detrimentally impact a child’s health and mental stability. Hence, it is highly imperative that we encourage a healthy lifestyle across school students in order to reduce and eadicate this issue.