Junk/Street Food is the most affordable meal for the working class. But health problems due to rampant and uncontrolled consumption are being compounded. It has therefore become imperative for governments to impose a higher tax on them. To what extent do you agree to this arrangement by the government? Give your opinion.

Street food is very popular amongst working professionals, but heavy consumption of junk food can also lead to several health hazards. Hence, it is argued that the government should introduce higher tax reforms to control its consumption. I do not agree with this fact and believe authorities should not interfere in this matter. This essay will discuss relevant reason to support my opinion. Firstly, professionals usually have a very hectic life and therefore, street food is a convenient option that compliments their busy schedules. Furthermore, it is extremely convenient for them because it is time saving and affordable. Moreover, food preference is a personal choice and adults understand the repercussions of unhealthy eating habits. Hence, it is not fair that state authorities impose heavy duty taxes on street food vendors. For instance, increasing taxes on local food stalls will lead to a price rise not making it an affordable option for middle class workers. Secondly, hiking tariffs on junk food could actually have an adverse impact on street food owners because there could be a possibility of them running out on business due to reduced sales. Consequently, this will further lead unemployment and poverty which can put unwanted pressure on the financial system of a country. Hence, concerned authorities should not intervene and disturb small businesses. To illustrate, incase food trucks and road side hawkers hike their rates because of tax implications, then they might cease to exist as a popular option across the working class. In conclusion, although junk food can lead to health issues if not consumed in a controlled manner, imposing higher excise duties on this will severely affect its consumers that have a tight budget and also impact the livelihood of street vendors.