Some people from poor and rural backgrounds find it difficult to get a university education. Universities should make it easier for such groups to enroll. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education these days is considered vital for success. In particular, many people aspire to get a university degree. However, higher education is often not an option for young people from poor rural families. Some, therefore, argue that the entry requirements should be lower for such applicants to achieve a level of fairness in society. I partly agree with this view. On the one hand, there are some justifications for setting easier entrance requirements for applicants from disadvantaged non-urban backgrounds. First, students in such areas don’t have chances to access high-quality education like their counterparts in the cities; therefore, lowering entrance standards is believed to bring equality between learners in different economic-level regions. For example, when taking an entrance exam, Vietnamese students would have plus points if they are in “special conditions” such as minority ethnic or living in mountainous areas. Nevertheless, it is also important not to set the bar too low for entry to universities. For a start, the main purpose of the university is to provide high-quality human resources. For this reason, if applicants are accepted because of their backgrounds while the academic level is not up to eligible standards required, they would find it hard to keep up with their friends. Instead, the government should make policies to promote the local educational system, such as constructing more schools or recruiting more teachers. These measures not only enhance the educational quality in underprivileged areas but also create a competitive workforce for the countries. In conclusion, I am firmly convinced that investing in educational facilities or requiring more high-qualified teachers rather than setting a lower entry bar for rural students would create better results.