In many countries, women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first year after the birth of their baby. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The maternity leave provided to new moms has been popular in most of the developed countries nowadays. There are several benefits to this trend and some drawbacks as well. This essay will present some of the pros and cons of such provision and explain why I believe its advantages easily outweigh the disadvantages. To commence with, giving birth to a new life and grooming it, is not an easy task. It is well-known that labour pain is the most dreadful pain which is equivalent to breaking of 50 bones at once. So, obviously,to overcome such unbearable experience of pain and difficulties, mothers deserve paid leaves. In addition, the early stage of children is very crucial and the presence of the other to take care of their offsprings is necessary so that she can create and develop a harmonious rapport with the newborn. The recent study done by a group of scientists in Australia showed that children who did not get the opportunity to spend an early couple of years with their mothers did not have good relationships with them and most of them were diagnosed with psychological and social issues. In contrary, there are very negligible drawbacks to this kind of arrangements for providing financial security to the new moms while they are on leaves to take care of their kids. One of them is mothers lagging behind in their careers as compared to their other counterparts, as they will be losing almost a year taking of their new-borns which otherwise they could have invested in upgrading their skills for their professional development. Also, the company will have to bear the cost of the amount paid as maternity leaves as well to casual staff replacing them and hence, face financial burden. But these cons are negligible in front of the pros it offers. To recapitulate, although providing maternity leaves may have some disadvantages such as hindrance in the professional development of new-moms and financial strain to the company, they can easily be out shadowed by the advantages it avails.