Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skill such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Some people hold a belief that schools should be a place where students study academic subjects to pass examinations rather than learn skills such as dressing and cookery. In my opinion, despite the significance of the academic study, the scholar should also be taught the fundamental life technique. On the one hand, studying academic theory is vital for students in many ways. Firstly, examination results are essential for the scholar’ academic record. With good results, they will have easy admission in the high faculty. Secondly, academic course better equips one's with fundamental education that will be used in tertiary college. For example, the majority of scholars in India is supposed to pass subjects, such as Microeconomics and Advanced Mathematics, which are comprised of mathematical proficiency taught at university. Hence, without a deep understanding, they may fail the final exams and have to repeat these course again, which is time-consuming and costly. However, there are several reasons why scholar still needs to learn the practical technique. For instance, when living far from family, life experience such as cooking will be helpful to prepare healthy and affordable meals on their own instead of eating out at restaurants. Furthermore, attending skill-building classes at the institute is also an effective way for them to unwind after many hours of academic studying. Thus, through a wide range of activities not only graduate are able to relax and but also perform better in exams. In conclusion, I disagree that students should only consider academic study because both academic learning and practical skills are equally important and should be taught at school.