More and more people are stressed today than ever before. What are the causes and solutions?

In this contemporary world, the majority of people are leading a more stressful life than decades ago. In my opinion, the fundamental reasons behind this stress are the exponential increase in workload aligned with the changes in living standards. However, this can be ameliorated by short and annual breaks as well as regular exercise. Regarding the potential causes, the chief cause is excessive work burdens in order to secure their basic necessities. Nowadays, many employees tend to expand their working hours leaving little time for leisure activities. Therefore, depriving them of either their time-off or rest will consequently make them stressed. What aggravates the condition is the noticeable rise in living standards. To illustrate, even if people work overtime, they barely support themselves financially due to the astronomical prices of essential needs such as food, rent, medical and educational services. Nevertheless, in the past, people were working only 6 or 7 hours, yet they were able to have a prosperous life. For the solutions, tackling this stress, there are two strategies proven their effectiveness in reducing stress levels. One of these measures depends on companies’ policy regulating their workforce breaks. For instance, in Japan, it has been stated that through introducing mandatory short coffee breaks during the working day in addition to designated annual holidays for all employees, they do not suffer from stress. Another daily relief is a regular exercise. Owing to the positive impacts of exercise on unwinding people ’s minds, some psychologists recommend stressed people to do so. This is because exercise releases specific hormones which are responsible for counteracting stress. To conclude, although living standards will continue to exert more pressure on people to work for extra shifts;they have become stressed, I believe that via holidays, breaks and physical exercise, they could mitigate this stress