A government has a responsibility to its citizen to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defence but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

A country is run by officials and it is their responsibility to safeguard its citizens by providing necessary services. It is believed by some people that to do the same, the government should allocate a large amount of money to military services rather than to society-related services. This essay will argue why spending on social services is equally important as defense. People are in favor of investing high finances in the armed forces. This is because they considered it as a top priority which guarantees citizen safety. In other words, if authorities prioritize security borders by maintaining a strong military presence it has a deterrent effect on threats. However, there should be a comprehensive safety that covers other areas as well which ensures social stability because some of these are devoid of the number of facilities that the government is not attentive to. The officials must be mindful of other aspects of the nation. Firstly, social benefits contribute to societal welfare and reduce inequality, which is also a form of safety. Secondly, higher military budgets lead to cuts in social welfare programs which could adversely affect education, healthcare, and support for the vulnerable sectors of society. The Indigenous population, an example, has been proved by research as a most highest population prone to diseases such as diabetes and cancer due to facing inequality in accessing healthcare facilities. Hence, the health sector including other sectors also requires the government's attention. In conclusion, although safety is the main reason in terms of defense for some people, they are more in favor of the allocation of money on this, but it is equally imperative that authorities should take steps towards other fields because of lacking resources for vulnerable groups.