In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that in coming years, readers will not spend on printed material and will incline towards reading from online resources due to its free access. I agree with the notion to large extent because of several reasons which are discussed in subsequent paragraphs. On the one hand, few readers will never leave the habit of reading from the hard copy as they find it convenient to read from it. This is primarily due to the fact that it is easy to navigate in the printed book as compared to ebook, especially in case reading a book where references are required more often. Apart from that, since the printed newspaper has a larger view, regular readers find it easier to get an overview of all news. Owing to these above-said reasons, it is not the case that people will grudge for small subscriptions on papers and books. To illustrate, in spite of the increasing trend of e-paper, especially in developed nations where internet is accessible to everyone, there is no significant impact on sales of the newspaper. On the other hand, it is quite possible that books and printed newspaper will die out in future and would be replaced by online information. First and foremost reason for this is the development of mobiles and computers in recent years. Due to these platforms, ebooks and online information has become ubiquitous and can be accessed anytime and anywhere. Apart from that, the electronic gadgets like Kindle, specially designed with no backlight, do not put a strain on eyes, thereby further enticing reader to read ebooks. In addition, minuscule expense spent by the publisher in the production of ebooks is the contributing factor towards making it free for the reader. To explain, the production of ebooks requires little expenditure because of the no requirement of paper made from trees. Not only this, publishers are now more focussed on earning from advertisements rather than from the pockets of customers. For example, it is with the generation of revenue from online advertisements that most blogs and websites like yahoo are running without any subscription. Therefore, it can be concluded that in a few years, online information would become free. To encapsulate, although hard copies have few benefits in terms of physicality, still I believe that online resources and ebooks certainly replace them in near future as it is conducive for readers in aspects of accessibility and cost.