It is sometimes said that ‘travel broadens the mind’. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Our experiences shape how we realize the world around us. I believe that travelling is a very effective way to expand the limits of our worldview since we are open to discover the unknown. Although it is not affordable to many people, other means to get in contact with different places and cultures can help people to expand their minds. To begin with, travelling is frequently an immersive experience. For example, all senses can be stimulated and sharpened by visiting unfamiliar landscapes, enjoying unknown scents, meeting different people or appreciating local gastronomy. Thus, these sensitive aspects of going to a new place inevitably create unforgettable memories, develop new viewpoints and help us to appreciate things that are taken for granted. On the other hand, not everyone has the money or time to travel. But that does not mean that these people are necessarily destined to be narrow-minded. Instead, perceptions can be broadened by other means. For instance, movies, books and documentaries offer literally virtual travels once they are a way to get in contact with other cultures and perspectives. Even reality-shows such as those about food, restaurants, and travelling can play an important role to expand people's repertoires. In conclusion, although travelling cannot be replaced, technologies like augmented reality available in videogames and other devices are increasingly offering better immersive visits in many landmarks around the globe. Maybe in the future, travelling will no longer be as we know, but many resources will get better to provide ways for people to widen their minds by having unforgettable experiences.