Some feel that the effects of advertising are positive for individuals and businesses, while others think they are negative. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is often argued by some that advertisements are advantageous to people and organisations. However, others maintain that they leave a negative impact on them. I agree with the latter statement and the reasons will be discussed in the subsequent paragraphs. To commence with, advertisements form a source of information for people which leaves a major impact on them. To elucidate, when a new product comes into the market, people know about its importance through adverts. These advertisements help people to choose and purchase things which they exactly need. To illustrate, when a brand new phone comes into the market, firms advertise them along with its features and price. Thus, both people and businesses gain huge profit by marketing their products. On the contrary, the advertisements could have a negative impact on people by distracting and persuading them to buy the things which actually they do not need. Moreover, people make it a matter of pride and do not even think twice before purchasing. For instance, people buy a new car by watching the advertisements even when they have one, which is absolutely a waste of money. Additionally, organisations exaggerate the positive sides of their products hiding the negative sides, and the people fall for their marketing tricks and strategies. As a result, people spend a lot of money on unnecessary things instead of saving. It is, therefore, necessary that people should examine each and every product review by themselves without falling prey for their tricks. In conclusion, although advertising the products have a great impact on people and firms, their drawbacks could not be neglected. In my opinion, creating awareness among the people outweighs its negative effects.