Some feel that the effects of advertising are positive for individuals and businesses, while others think they are negative. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Advertising has always been a controversial topic, which has valid arguments on both sides. In this essay, I will discuss the views of how it affects companies and their customers; and give my opinion. There are many advantages that the programs may bring. For companies, they have been a great tool to raise awareness of the companies' potential customers, which leads to acquiring new income. Furthermore, adverts reinform customers about the brand so that businesses build return and loyal consumers. For the individual, watching different types of ads helps to learn about new businesses or products that they may need, thus they do not waste time searching. With the emerge of technology, advertising can also be targeted to customers, which may help matching products to users who in need of them. However, opponents point out some major problems with it. First of all, a small mistake might cause significant impacts if an advertisement was broadcasted wisely to the public. For example, a TV ad by Dove was accused of race harassment because there were only white actresses, which leads to a serious drop in sales. Moreover, many argue that watching these contents can change buyer behaviour. For instance, most of them often exaggerate the product, as a result, customers may be disappointed after their purchasing. There is also a long-term effect which is overconsuming because consumers make too many purchases. To conclude, I believe both sides of the argument are valid. Although there is some downside, advertising is still a good mean to get good products the expose to customers.