One of the most important issues facing the world today is a shortage of food and some think genetically modified foods are a possible solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Lacking food availability is raising a significant concern in this temporary world, and what scientists suggest is to use genetically modified foods. In my perspective, utilizing this biology technique will solve the shortage of foods because it eliminates some causes of these issues. To begin with, the agricultural yield will increase by the positive effect of modified genetic food. Because scientists select the most ideal gene to conclude in modified foods, their traits are also enhanced. For example, they are prone to absorb vitamins and minerals from the surrounding environment, so they will grow faster than conventional crops. What is more, modified DNA fruit adapts better in a severe condition such as drought regions and depleted soil. Following this manner, it results in more fruit quantity, and the popularity of food will lower the price. Hence, more people will have a chance to access quality food, helping to alleviate world hunger. Secondly, this biology technology develops plant’s tolerance for herbicides, insects, and pests, reducing their harm in the number of food production. Instead of using pesticides to kill insects and pets, scientists opt for genetic modification that inserts genes whose traits are better than normal ones in terms of better nutrition and rich in reproduction. Some argue that these modified products are the primary factor causing cancer, but there is no evidence so far to prove this claim according to the American Cancer Association. GMO corns, for instance, are now popular in today’s markets because they resist certain insects and pets but not humans. Therefore, genetically modified foods are forecasted to be efficient in the enhancement of harvests. In conclusion, coping with the edge of food existence, recent studies are suggesting to apply genetic modification as an ultimate solution which accelerates food yield and reduces insect damage to crops