The rise of convenience food has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern lifestyle. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

In order to keep pace with the contemporary way of living, processed meals have emerged as a support to individuals. Although this trend has eased the life of people, still the demerits associated with it outweigh the merits. The prominent benefit of convenience foods is that these are easily and rapidly cooked. With the half processed contained in the packaging, barely a few efforts are required to prepare this food. This is primarily for a fact that such meals prove to be particularly beneficial in case of workaholics, who hardly have any time to cook fresh food for them. For instance, this is especially true in the case of frozen vegetables, which, not only consumed immediately after heating for a few minutes in the microwave but also save enough time engaged in cooking raw vegetables. However, the disadvantages of consuming such food items are also there. The first and the foremost is that a fair amount of nutrients are lost in these types of meals. To elaborate, certain nutrients are wiped out while blanching the fruits and vegetables before packing and freezing, which is surely detrimental for the health of people, who intake these. Not only this, many preservatives are contained in convenience meals in an attempt to make them edible for a long time. Apart from this, salt and sugar are also added in excess so that these can become more delicious, which is again a matter of concern since these can cause blood sugar levels to rise in most of the individuals, particularly diabetes or heart patients. Besides these harmful effects to the health, these edibles have rendered the youth lethargic. In other words, owing to the easily cooked foods, they rarely contemplate of preparing raw meals at home. In this way, all the steps of consuming sufficient energy are eliminated in the procedure of making food at home such as shopping the raw food from the market, peeling, chopping, thereby sitting and eating at one place whole day. As a consequence, the wrong precedent has been set up for the children, who develop a habit of eating processed foods instead of home-cooked, which is requisite in their formative years. To conclude, undoubtedly, the convenience foods fit well into the busy lifestyles that most people lead today, but the severe repercussions arising out of these meals cannot be ignored.