THE USE OF MOBILE PHONES IS AS ANTISOCIAL AS SMOKING. SMOKING IS BANNED IN CERTAIN PLACES SO MOBILE PHONE SHOULD BE BANNED LIKE SMOKING. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE.

Addiction can be harmful in many ways be it a habit like smoking or using mobile phones. It has been argued that the use of mobile phones in certain places should be prohibited like smoking. While I accept that the use of mobile phones has many benefits in our lives, I believe overuse or misuse of mobile phones should be avoided in certain places. Firstly, mobile phones have become one of the most useful and productive devices for human beings; Even surpassing laptops. For example, you can do all sorts of things on a mobile ranging from communication(voice and video), entertainment(movies and music), navigation(maps), work(conference calls and document creation), play(games & social network), etc. However, untimely use of mobile phones is harmful, such as playing games in school and talking loudly in hospitals. Thus, it is agreed that mobile should be forbidden like smoking in some specific places. Furthermore, without undermining the importance of mobile phones, it is ascertained that cellphones should be restricted in some places like schools or hospitals. For instance, places of strict discipline like schools and colleges should not allow mobiles during some specific times like classrooms where student's concentration can be easily diverted from the whiff of mobiles. Thus, it is clear that cellphones use should be limited in specific places. To summarize, while I agree that cellphones have many advantages, I have the opinion that the misuse of mobile phones in certain places should be strictly forbidden.