The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000, there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the advancements of technology, the last century saw a great rise in the number of cars on roads. This trend has numerous negative impacts on our society and its inhabitants; therefore, I completely agree with the promotion of public transportation and enforcement of international laws, in order to reduce the volume of automobiles. To start with, a large number of cars have become a source of comfort for many, but the adverse effects are uncountable than the facilities, are provided by them. Firstly, the increasing proportion of vehicles has become a source of air pollution. The promotion of alternative transit is an effective way to solve this problem. For instance, if ten people are using five cars for their daily purposes, only one public transport would be enough for them. Furthermore, the consumption of fuel is paramount now and it is predicted that if the usage of fuel remains on this level, it will vanish from this planet in the coming century. In this regard, more vehicles consume more fuel and produce toxic gases which are harmful to the earth and environment. Therefore, to improve the environmental condition, it is compulsory to upgrade alternative ways of transport. In addition to this, international laws could also help to tackle this problem. It is the duty of international organisations to create equilibrium among nations by creating such laws which discourage people to buy more cars and motivate them to use public transport. For example, international lawmakers should make a policy that each person cannot buy more than two cars and high taxes must be imposed on the ownership of more than two vehicles. These taxes would be utilized for the welfare of economically disadvantaged people. In conclusion, it is clear that with the promotion of public transport and international regulations, the number of cars and pollution problems can be solved.