News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported? Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Newspapers and television broadcast has always been the prime sources of information for decades. However, the news printed and broadcasted was always under scrutiny and was deemed always on the negative side rather than being positive. This essay will highlight what factors affect new editors to take such decisions and also talk about how people's interpretation of the news is key to its type. Firstly, there are a plethora of stories that are in disposal of new channel agencies and it is up to the editor in chief to decide, what to publish determining on few factors. Television rating points or TRP is one such reason as it takes into accounts what types of news will be an instant hit among the audience. For example, we all just love hearing gossips and its a normal trait in the human being which is exploited by news channel agencies in generating more of tabloids. Another factor that is taken into account is the severity of an event in the life of people. To illustrate, if there is a cyclone that is approaching us or there is a terrorist attack, will always be highlighted as they are genuine content of interest. To recapitulate, we can say TRP and impact of an event in human lives will always be taken into account to generate more views for media agencies. Secondly, the news, i.e whether the is good or bad is always debatable as every news have a different impact on humans. For instance, a legendary actor dieing in my country, maybe a bad story for few people in the country, and for the others, it will just be another story for people like me as I became aware of it. Moreover, cyclones, floods, wars and pandemics are often categorized as bad events according to some people whereas, these are in fact realities of life which have already happened, is happening or about to happen and hence, we must be aware of to take precautionary measures in order to save ourselves from such impact, which paradoxically has a positive effect on humanity and can be classified as good. In a nutshell, all events are deemed bad and good from a human's perspective and vary from person to person. To conclude, Editor's in chiefs will always try to broadcast news that TRP centric and the current events that have affects our lives to generate more views. These events can be classified as good or bad depending on people's perspective and not on a common myth.