Governments should fund scientific research rather than commercial organizations. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Some people assert that governing authorities ought to prefer investing in research and development to business-centric undertakings. I agree with this notion to a large extent because of several reasons which are discussed in subsequent paragraphs. On the one hand, spending budget on commercial organisations is a long term investment of a government to earn a profit. To explain, when a government spends hefty amounts on big projects to provide services to the citizens, such as railways and roadways, revenue can be generated through nominal ticket charges. For example, the government -funded railway of United Kingdom earned 1% of their annual budget in 2019, thereby providing valuable money to the government. On the other hand, in my perspective, it is imperative for a government to invest in research and development so that critical problems in society can be eradicated. First and foremost, the share of budget should be dedicated to the study of eradicating deadly diseases like cancer and AIDS so that life expectancy of the citizens can be increased. To cite an example, it is due to the spending of governments on the study of various viruses that certain vaccinations have been developed to end diseases like polio. More such efforts are required in the future to eliminate certain novel diseases. Furthermore, some share of investment should be spent on scientific experiments for finding alternates to the energy resources which cannot emit carbon dioxide like conventional resources such as fossil fuels. To elaborate, if efficient resources of renewable energy can be developed, the pollution level would be controlled to large extent and thus, the problem of global warming can be tackled. In addition, research in the field of agriculture can also ensure food security around the world. To illustrate, in the previous century, with the efforts of various scientists and governments, the green revolution was brought with the advancement of pesticides. insecticides and other farming methods. Therefore, this kind of revolution will be required in future to provide enough food to a rising population. To encapsulate, while the government can reduce some burden on the taxpayer by executing business, in my opinion, the authority ought to be more focus on research and development regarding resolving societal problems such as pollution, diseases as well as less food.