TODAY MORE AND MORE TOURISTS ARE VISITING PLACES WHERE CONDITIONS ARE DIFFICULT SUCH AS THE SAHARA DESERT OR THE ANTARTIC. WHAT ARE THE BENEFITS AND DISADVANTAGES FOR TOURISTS WHO VISIT SUCH PLACES?

Many visitors prefer to go to places where weather conditions are extreme such as the Sahara Desert or Antarctica. There are many pros and cons for vacationists who go to such places for holidays. In this essay, I will discuss both views. On one hand, there are many advantages of travelling to places where the weather is difficult. Firstly, it aids in boosting their tourism industry where means of employment are limited. Most of the inhabitants can survive with the help of this industry. Due to weather conditions, people are not able to get involved in other occupations. In this manner, they are able to buy the essential items necessary for their survival. For instance, according to a report by Times Mirror, 45% of the people in the Sahara Desert are starving due to ongoing pandemic. On the other hand, this kind of tourism has its negative impacts. The resources for survival at these places are limited and tourists need to utilize these scarce sources which may lead to a crisis in the lives of the local population. They need to cut-on their needs and requirements to fulfil the needs of visitors. For example, as per the survey conducted by the National Health Mission, 32% of children are suffering from malnutrition in colder regions. In conclusion, while visiting places where conditions are harsh can be beneficial for the residents because it provides them employment, it is important to pay attention to the costs as well which these residents need pay due to less essential items.