Some people think that it is necessary to travel to other places to learn about other cultures. Others say that books, films and the Internet can be used as a source of information about different cultures. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Whilst many reckon that it is essential to visit a country to know its culture and traditions, others are of the opinion that various sources available such as articles, online information and documentaries are more than adequate for this purpose. This essay does not agree with this view and it will be justified in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, it is essential for a person to see, observe and live the lives of the individuals at least once to learn about their customs and traditions otherwise it will be almost impossible to interpret the written information available on the Wikipedia. Interpretation of the facts given in books are usually subjective and different people have a different understanding of culture after reading the same book because of the difference in their understanding and imagination. For instance, studies show that 70% of experts agree that understanding culture through books and articles is dependent on their reading skills and imagination. On the contrary, numerous people suggest that watching movies and documentaries are as good as visiting a place to learn about their culture. However, every author has a different opinion about the same folklore because of difference in observations and when someone is trying to learn about the same folklore than he will not be able to make his own viewpoint and he will be biased with the ideology of the author. Furthermore, the authenticity of the data available on various websites can not be guaranteed because of so many fraudulent websites. For example, data available on Wikipedia can not be trusted as anyone can go online and can write about anything as there is no governing body to cross-check the facts. Moreover, my nephew copied from Wikipedia about the Indian traditions and was surprised when he cross-checked it with the standard books as most of the information was wrong. To conclude, in my viewpoint, it is necessary to visit a society in order to know about their customs and way of living because it will be easy for them to understand when they will see the traditions themselves and will be able to make their own opinion instead of reading about other author's opinion. Moreover, data available on the internet can not be trusted as there is no governing body to cross-check the facts.