We are becoming less influenced by advertising now than in the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent times, it is noticeable that the advertising impact on people has gradually decreased than decades ago. In my opinion, the major causes behind this are the changes in people ’s mentality and alternative persuasive factors. However, I believe that it is considered a positive development for many individuals. Regarding the possible justifications, the chief cause contributing to the decline in media’s influence is that many adverts followers have realized what they really need. To illustrate, as many people comprehend the main strategy of advertisements to achieve huge sales, they try to purchase only their basic necessities regardless of commercials’ recommendation. Another feasible factor is the omnipresence of multiple persuading sources. For instance, thanks to online reviews on stores websites, numerous customers usually surf the internet before any purchase. This is because they trust users’ comments rather than commercials. In contrast, in the past, people were highly attracted to adverts due to the lack of any other source of updates. From my perspective, this reduction in the influential impact of advertising helps people save their money as well as provides others with their much-needed items. Once consumers have become more attentive regarding their essential needs, they will commit to them saving their earnings. Additionally, via this decrease in compulsive shopping resulted from the power of advertising, needy persons are capable of affording their essentials. For example, during this pandemic period, infected patients could not get their medicines since healthy ones obtained the protocol announced in Tv commercials. Thus, if people reduce their surge to be convinced by advertisements, all individuals will be benefited. To conclude, owing to the availability of persuasive substitutions to adverts aligned with changing people ’s mentality, they are less influenced by them than before. I assume that this saves people ’s money spent on unnecessary products and offers needy ones their targets. 304