Emails have had a huge impact on professional and social communication. However, their effects have been positive as well as negative. Do the advantages, of using email outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advent of the internet, fast electronic mediums of communications have completely revolutionalised the traditional ways of exchanging information. One such modern medium of conversation is an email. Although this method has certain drawbacks in the workplace and in our personal communication, It has a lot of advantages which overshadow its weaknesses. As email only contains written messages, it could sometimes cause misunderstanding between a sender and a receiver. For instance, when we talk to another person, we do not speak by words only, but also express ourselves by body language, voice intonations and other subtle clues. All of this information is missing in the electronic mails whether sent for a business or personal use. Therefore, if two parties are involved in a sensitive issue, it would not be a good idea to communicate by mails but to meet in person and address their concerns through negotiation and social skills. On the other hand, electronic mails offer us a lot of advantages and solutions to the problems which we use to face in the recent past. It offers us a fast and instantaneous medium of communication. For instance, in the past decades, when a letter used to takes weeks to deliver, email can be spent around the world in just a matter of seconds. This has helped businesses to grow and flourish and made trade deals and negotiations quicker, easier and cheaper. Furthermore, we can always attach media files, like pictures, videos and music, in the mail. These attachments add more meaning to the message and made it personal and emotional to the receiver. To conclude, emails have completed transformed the way we communicate in our social and work-related lives. While it does not contains all the features of a conversation, it offers us the merit of advantages, including being instantaneous and loaded with information, which makes it more meaningful in our personal and professional lives.