Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the considerable sales figures of a product cannot be a reliable indicator of modern society’s real demands since high revenues are significantly influenced by advertising. Although I accept that advertising can have major impacts on sales, I still believe that these statistics also reflect the needs of consumers. First of all, I opine the view that advertising plays a vital role in increasing sales because of some reasons. To be more specific, thanks to advertisements displayed nationwide, consumer goods can become more accessible to buyers who can be well informed about the key features of advertised products. In other words, advertising contributes to enhancing the company’s image as well as raise brand awareness and therefore attracts more prospective customers. This can be exemplified by the case of Oppo which invests millions of dollars each year for advertising in order to compete against other rivals, which is a worth of money when Oppo has become a reliable smartphone brand for the majority of Vietnamese people. In addition, I also hold a firm belief that the high sales figures still somehow demonstrate consumers’ desires. In fact, people these days are facing a really tough time featuring economic crisis, so it is undeniable that they are likely to consider more thoroughly before making purchasing decisions. In other words, advertising seems not to be manipulative and powerful enough to dominate people’s thoughts in some cases. Therefore, if consumers do not really want to own an item, nothing can orientate them, even attractive advertisements or promotional programs. In conclusion, due to the aforementioned reasons, I strongly argue that not only do high sales reflect the powerful effects of advertising bit it also conveys people’s real demands.