Some people spend a lot of money on sports and cultural events. Is it good or bad? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

One of the most conspicuous things about today's world is the discussion between people about spending money on sports and cultural events and if it can be viewed as a boon or detrimental to society. While there are disadvantages splurging finances on the activities, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. In this essay, I shall discuss both views and present my arguments. There is a deluge of points in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one of them is that the games present an opportunity to interact multiple nations. Moreover, it can be argued that this can increase the love and brotherhood among pubic. Furthermore, it should be taken into account that this warmth among nations can only enhance the relationships and cause friction to go away. For example, it is reported in the New York Times that there was a drastic decline in crime rate owing to the Olympics season. On the flip side, there are people who think that it can cause great harm. Firstly, it is believed that the competitions cause injuries and it can be expensive to heal the wounds. Secondly, it is also said that with an increase in sports activities, the focus on more important aspects of life is lost especially among teenagers. For instance, according to a survey in London, after a major event, the probability of people failing in the exams is higher. In conclusion, the arguments on both sides are equally convincing. A healthy balance needs to be maintained so that the advantages are utilised effectively from sports events. The apprehensions need to considered and should not be warranted.