Successful sports professional can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while think it is unfair. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Sports professionals, once successful, earn more money than people in other important professions and while there is a view that this is not fair, there is also a contrasting view that it is totally justified. Although I support the former perspective, this essay will discuss both views. While most important sectors that contribute to the development of any nation are agriculture, industries and services, Sports is not such a sector. Furthermore, Sports do not pull any country from poverty while other sectors do. For example, while the contributions of Abdul Kalam as a president of India are more valuable to India than the services of Sachin Tendulkar who the greatest cricketer all times, the complete salary that Abdul Kalam received in his entire life is far less than the annual fees that Sachin Tendulkar charges for marketing BOOST Hot Drink beverage. Therefore, given the importance of other professions, the huge money being given to a few successful sports professionals is not justified. On the contrary, If there are very few successful sports professionals per million people in a country then in order to increase the participation general public into these games, some drastic measures have to be taken. However, this may not hold true for all countries at all times but only some exceptional circumstances. For instance, despite huge population and natural resources, the number of Olympic medals earned by Indians is very low and it is embarrassing to see Japan a nation which experiences 3 earthquakes every month overtake India in terms of the tally of medals received every year. Hence, in order to avoid such situations, some countries may provide a hefty sum of money to successful sports celebrities to encourage others to join sports and this may look fair at that point in time. To conclude, successful players of every sport are gaining immense financial benefits when compared to small salaries obtained by people in other prominent jobs. Although in my view this situation is totally unfair and there are some exceptions based on the importance a nation gives to a particular sport at a point of time.