Write about the following topic: In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As our grasp of science becomes more sophisticated and medicine makes larger leaps in terms of disease prevention, the geriatric population is expected to grow in larger rates than it ever was. Which means more people will grow older and be sent to nursing homes. Therefore the question that must be asked is whose task it is to pay for their care? the government's or their family's? This essay will argue why the prior entity is financially responsible for the care of our older population. First and foremost, it is the nation's collective responsibility to look after our elders who once were actively contributing citizens to the country's economy. Meaning, when the government or any other public entity supports senior people, they are doing so through the money earned by them whilst they were part of the workforce. Take South Korea as an example, every person above the age of 60 has the right to quit his/her job and pursue a life of leisure where they get to live in any care facility of their choice, from the twelve fully developed ones, in the country. Secondly, while some families support their old members, not all people have supportive family members. For instance, a recent study published by Harvard Business Review showed that only 65% of young adults were willing to give money to senior relatives. Moreover, if the government would not lend a helping hand to those who need it, they might end up sleeping on the streets. Which would generate a whole another set of problems related to homelessness. To conclude, whenever an individual reaches a certain age, they are sent to an institution that houses other senior citizens under the care of nurses and specialized staff. While sometimes families choose to support their senior citizens, I believe that such fundings should be provided by the country itself as a right given to all its individuals.