There is a trend in the 21 century in which people are turning to alternative healing like Ayurveda and homeopathy over allopathic medicine. Discuss the Advantages and disadvantages of this approach.

There is a growing interest in the traditional methods in the 21st century and medical science is one of the key areas where people are approaching towards Ayurveda and Homeopathy. This essay first analyses the advantages and then disadvantages with valid reasons and suitable examples; followed by a conclusion. People nowadays are moving back to the basics as many are now being attracted towards the healthy lifestyle of their ancestors. Therefore, medical science is one of the key areas where people are looking for traditional remedies for general or complex problems such as sugar or blood pressure. There are many reasons for this advancement such as less or no side-effects, easy availability even in the rural areas, and economically compared to the allopathic medicines. Additionally, these medicines have capabilities to cure the problem even of the root where the allopathy just suppress the problem and gave a quick relief. For instance, as per the records of the National Homeopathy Council, 80% of the sugar patients get permanent relief from diabetes. On contrary, there are many drawbacks of these traditional approaches such as less or no scientific evidence, lack of genuine doctors, and no proper or proven way to find the medical history. Moreover, these methodologies take time to heil the patients and there are many restrictions on the food intake as these techniques expecting the patient to follow the traditional diets which are very tough to follow nowadays. Furthermore, there is no concept of surgery in these methods and patients has to take patience in these procedures. For example, as per the data available by Orthopaedic Council of India, 95% of people avoided Ayurveda or Homeopathy in case of any accidental emergency. To conclude, however, there is a growing interest in people towards Ayurveda or Homoeopathy but allopathy is the only choice for them in emergency situations.