Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing( for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras. In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, modern technologies such as tracking system have been widely applied in every aspect of our life. It is argued by some that being monitored is a violation of human right, while others hold a view that cellphone tracking systems can stabilize societies. But, I, personally, support a view that the systems can contribute more good deeds than devastating results to our societies. First off, many think that if governments place the GPS location system into individual's cellulars, it is highly likely that they will be supervised. However, they wrongly assume that governments will be able and willing to implement such a strategy. Although generally having significant revenues each year, not all governments have a financial surplus. Many nations, facing tough issues such as extreme poverty and regional conflicts, are unable to put such a scheme which would cost them millions of dollars, into action. Additionally, spying on ordinary citizens extensively who are usually surrounded by trivial things is impossible to collect effective intelligence and probably generates unaffordable labour expense for hiring professionally trained staffs. So the outcome of using tracking phones may not be as terrible as we thought. Secondly, if we hypothesize that there exist no tracing technologies, many irreversible effects may happen. For instance, it would take a longer time for cops to arrest precarious culprits. A sea of murders could not be caught as soon as possible, thus resulting in the turbulence of our societies to a great extent. It would be also out of the question for the crowd to retrieve the electronic devices they have lost, for which they may spend a fortune, a severe inconvenience that could make every citizen's life troublesome. Although it is unassailable that offenders are possible to invade our private electrical tools through tracking, however, such crimes can be solved by officers quite prompt by using advanced locating techniques. So, the skills can exert more advantages and less negative reverberations. In conclusion, though the technologies aforementioned do have their adverse sides, their virtues, nevertheless surpass the demerits.