Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Due to globalisation,the import-export among several countries is accelerating in modern times. In this context,many individuals nurture this belief that consuming locally produced food is better from economic as well as financial view instead of importing it from any foreign nation. This essay will explore the umpteen number of merits along with a few drawbacks of this approach before reaching any conclusion. However, this school of though sounds me correct. To commence, a number of arguments put forth in favour of eating local food for lessening the economic burden and protecting the environment. Firstly,growing food locally opens up vistas of employment for natives which would uplift the status of locals and supplement their income. In other words, as the production of the excessive number of food items require a large number of workers working in fields. Consequently, indigenous people get employment and become financially strong. Secondly, delivering and transporting goods is also an expensive activity because of many hidden costs such as customs duty and extra delivery cost,which will be minimized, if people prefer to eat local food. Finally, shipping the food which far away places require heavy-duty trucks and aeroplanes which emit obnoxious gases in the environment. Therefore, abstaining from foreign eatables indirectly will help in mitigating the colossal problem of environmental degradation. On the other side, taking and producing food locally have some disadvantages as well. As the geographical location of some provinces may not be suitable for the production of many crops. In order to produce these crops,expensive machinery and equipment are required which may exert pressure on the national exchequer. Hence, the shipment of such foods from far away may be a better option to save large chunks of money. To encapsulate, although there are some merits of receiving food shipment from other countries,yet the myriad number of advantages of eating locally produced food is much more environment-friendly and exert less economic pressure on any nation.