In today's world, private companies rather than government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

It is true that in this day and age the recent scientific experiments are generally managing by private campaigns, while government have a small deal in such processes. Personally, I consider that It brings more drawbacks rather than benefits. To support the above-mentioned statement, I guess that some high powered companies have to spend a great amount of money in scholars' researches, which, in its turn, may have unpredictable outputs. The costs like renting laboratories, buying rare materials and enacting high-spec machines seem to require an enormous amount of money. Furthermore, modern researches are mainly time-consuming, so they are not any guarantees that the future income is able to cover the massive expenses of particular companies. In addition, it is undeniable that the national budget is solely based on business investments and taxis, so it is not hard to guess that the county and its dwellers are most likely to be negatively affected, if the government don't pay the salaries from the overall income. On the other hand, huge problems are about to appear, if the government do not monitor the experimental processes. In other words, some illegal companies willingly invest any money in such projects like nuclear weapons or the new types of drugs extracted by poisoned plants and chemicals. Subsequently, the research emission is more likely to be thrown into nature and environment, which can lead to a number of natural disasters like contamination and disturbing of eco-balance within the wildlife. Eventually, the government have to impose some rules or even personally take their supervision over these experiments in order to overcome the future consequences of that law-against groups and criminals. Thus, it is extremely important that the government try to be aware of every research or projects, which take place in the borders of their country. To conclude, I believe that the governments will be able to firm their minority in countries would that be in political or technological fields.