Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

The evolution of technology has vastly developed the ways in which people communicate with each other. It is possible to interact with anyone in any part of the world with just a click on our mobile phone. But does this mean that it is no longer necessary to write letters? I partially agree with this statement and will be discussing both the views in this paragraph. Modern means of communication such as email, fax, chat or video calls makes it a lot easier to send anything around the world within a few minutes as compared to the letters which take days or sometimes, even weeks to get to their destination. Moreover, it is possible to send an important document via email or fax instead of mailing it which saves a lot of our time and money. Apart from that, people just text message or video chat with their loved ones even on special occasions. On the contrary, letters are not extinct today and are used in many ways. Legal documents are sent through the mail most of the times so that there it can be kept as proof by the receiver. Other than that, written communication is more sentimental and expresses our love for others, unlike virtual messages. For example, sending a letter or a birthday card to your loved one would mean more to them instead of sending just a text message. To conclude, modern communication makes it way easier to know about the wellbeing of our family or relatives who live far away from us but letters are used in other ways where telephonic conversation cannot be possible.