Some believe that people today have no interest in maintaining the traditional culture of their country or region. Others believe that it is still important to people that we preserve a traditional way of life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people feel that protecting the traditional cultures of their own nations is less essential than introducing new cultures into them. Others think that it is still more important to maintain their cultural norms and traditions than anything else. Even though there are pros and cons concerning this topic, I believe that the former viewpoint is more significant than the latter as I will explain. First of all, incorporating some new cultures can lead a country to further development. According to some literature preserved in the Tokyo Museum, more than 70% of Japanese restaurants suffered from the astronomical deficit due to the limited variations in their menus. However, by introducing a wide variety of eccentric foods such as Chinese food and Italian food, more than 90% of the national food industries, including restaurants and factories, experienced a significant increase in sales figures, resulting in their economic growth. However, in my opinion, this can be solved by raising people’s awareness of the importance of domestic food. Turning to the importance of cultural preservation, culture is rooted in our life ranging from food and clothes to languages and technology. In terms of languages, in this world, there are an increasing number of languages that are becoming extinct. This is attributed to the incorporation of new cultures into their own cultures. For instance, in Hong Kong, the native language spoken by Hong Kong residents is Cantonese. However, due to the progress of globalization around the world, the language is on the verge of replacement. Actually, more and more people in Hong Kong nowadays use English instead of Cantonese. That is to say, a part of their culture might be in danger in the near future. As human beings, our original culture is more valuable than new cultures for the sake of well-being. In conclusion, it is argued that we should protect our original cultures before anything else. In my opinion, I believe that we should focus more on preserving our own culture than on incorporating new ones into ours because each culture has a root of its own culture, where people feel necessary to live.