More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's world, a private vehicle is the most popular type of transportation among the population. Some people consider that this might cause some environmental problems and new measures have to be introduced in order to overcome this issue. First of all, citizens prefer cars to public transport due to their convenience and reliability but they sacrifice fresh air. This is because usually,cars require petrol that, in turn, leads to a large number of emissions which are harmful to human's health. As a result, in large industrial cities where there is a high level of traffic and, hence, people inhale a dreadful air that is likely to impact their lungs. For instance, in China and Korea face masks had become very common even before the coronavirus since they have a high level of pollution. However, this problem might be solved by encouraging the use of public transport. Consequently, if the government intervene and improves the quality of public means of transportation it is likely to increase the demand them. Hence, citizens will prefer not to spend low money on petrol but use buses instead. For example, in Ukraine,a government has significantly improved the quality of public transport and the number of private vehicles decreased by 5%. To conclude, the over-reliance on private cars could lead to a variety of problems related to the damage to the environment since a lot of emissions are produced. Therefore, one possible measure to go through this question might be a government intervention and improvements in public means of transportation.