Some people think books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extent do you agree?

Many individuals believe that books are not the main source of information and leisure nowadays. I totally agree with this since there is an immense amount of information people can find online and plenty of other options for entertainment. The main reason why books are not being used in the search for knowledge recently is that it can be easily found online. Books carry a vast amount of information but nowadays people are always looking for specific data and do not want to read a whole chapter of a book to find it. Consequently, they resort to easier tools such as Youtube and Google where they can search for the exact information they need in just a few seconds. For instance, many professionals have online chat groups with colleagues all around the world where they exchange knowledge and people can ask questions about their work and have it answered without the effort of reading a book. As for the use as an entertainment source, today there are many other options more attractive than books. People are constantly surrounded by different relaxing ways of enjoying their free time due to the advance in technology that made it possible for individuals to watch movies and play games on their smartphones. As a result, especially the young public tends to spend all of their leisure time attached to a screen. To illustrate, a study from Harvard University showed that teenagers spend an average of five hours per day on their phones either playing games or in social media. In conclusion, I reaffirm my opinion that books are losing importance since people can find the information they need through other faster channels and nowadays they have more options of activities to enjoy as a source of entertainment.