Some people agree with spending lots of money on a large wedding, while others think it is a waste of money. What is your opinion?

It is the view of a few individuals that weddings should be celebrated lavishly while others oppose this trend. I also endorse the latter choice to a large extent and reasons behind my stance are discussed in subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, the first and foremost reason in this context is that splurging money on big weddings often set a wrong precedent in society. In fact, it is due to these extravagant celebrations that guests and the neighbours are lured to opt for a similar trend, which is evidently very unfortunate for individuals in terms of peace and content. For example, in Asian countries, when an upper-middle-class family throws a grand reception on the account of their children's marriage, attendees feel compelled to do the same in future since it has been set a status symbol for them. Thus, this makes it obvious a wrong futile choice. To fortify further, another factor is that these vast sums of money can be utilized for better purposes. This is primarily for a fact that such saved amount proves to be particularly beneficial in case of making any investment in future for the family or some kind of health emergency. Not only this, many a time people take a loan in order to commemorate large weddings. As a consequence, they end up as stressed and frustrated while unable to pay the debts on time. However, on the other hand, there are a few positive aspects that may also be considered. It is generally seen that these big fat weddings not only bring all the relatives and friends together but also make a memorable day for the bride and groom. A case in point is that most of the rich people think it as of an appropriate moment to flaunt their wealth, which is, somewhere, acceptable, as they earn enormous profits in their businesses. Therefore, they can easily organize such parties without being indebted to anyone. In the gist of the above contents, it can be concluded that although large weddings may bring happiness for individuals, still I opine that this trend should not be promoted owing to the problems associated with it.