A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

As the world becomes more progressed, humans have become increasingly more practical leading to an increased focus on social ranks, as well as owning materialistic objects as a status of wealth. Some might go as far as saying that values such as goodheartedness, cooperation, and trustworthiness have been replaced by what you own and what position you hold as determinants of how people regard you. This essay will discuss why I definitely disagree with such statements. First and foremost, old-fashioned values remain important for all people and in all walks of life. Take nursing as an example, it is a field that was built not just on science, but also on the basis of kindness, trust, and helping the sick. For instance, during job interviews, candidates are evaluated according to a set of certain soft skills in order to be accepted. Additionally, a recent study published by Bloomberg School of Public Health showed that 79% of patients paid no regard to materialistic objects and prefered to be looked after by nurses who were kind, rather than harsh. Moreover, 82% of the test subjects also stated that they were less likely to share key facts with the medical staff if they did not regard them as trustworthy. To put it in other words, such values are not only needed, they are also essential. Another point to consider is how many people choose their friends based on personal merits, rather than what car they drive. In a recent survey conducted by the New York Times, 92% of responders exhibited a preference for persons who had positive human behaviour rather than those who were financially capable. That same survey documented that 64% of participants prioritized honesty in a friend and 31% showed an inclination towards openness, in contrast to only 5% who desired to befriend only those who hold high social statuses or come from a rich background. To conclude, while many consider the age of high morals is long gone, I argued why these characteristics would never go out of style, and would, therefore, never be replaced by clothes, jewellery, or other disposable items.