Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed However some people think that zoos are useful for protecting rare animals Discuss both views and give your opinion

While some believe that zoos play an indispensable role in protecting wild animals, others argue that keeping these animals in such a simulated habitat is harmful to them. From my point of view, although some drawbacks could be seen, they are overshadowed by the benefits. On the one hand, critics of zoos may have their justifications. First, animals are isolated from their natural habitats and confined in a limited space. Even the artificial environment cannot come close to matching the space, diversity, and freedom that animals can have in their natural habitats. In addition, these animals sometimes could be trained for entertaining purposes. Some authorities would argue that they do not abuse them and their actions aim to raise the fund in order to improve the quality of these animals. However, all these things can make captive animals suffer from physical and mental illnesses, which is related to their shorter life expectancy in comparison with their wild counterparts. Nevertheless, these opponents might ignore the essential role of safari parks in wildlife protection. First, most animals in these places are on the brink of extinction. This is due to the increase in illegal trading or other threats such as habitat destruction or their predators. Moreover, one of the most important functions of safari parks is to promote international breeding programs. Evidently, in the wildlife environment, some of the rarest species have difficulty in finding mates and breeding. Therefore, by using modern medical technology, zoos can ensure both the birth rate and the immature survival rate of these animals. In conclusion, although there may be some drawbacks such as making animals feel pain or stress, zoos have significant impacts on the conservation of animal species. Therefore, they should not be closed down.