in spite of the advance made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. why is this the case? what can be done about this problem?

Although we have made incredible advances in the field of agriculture, food is still a scarce resource for many nations around the globe and as a result, many children sleep hungry at night. There are two main causes of this phenomenon which are the high cost of transferring the products and conflicts between countries, such as wars. After discussing the above viewpoints, this essay will provide plausible solutions to tackle these pressing issues. Cost to transfer the food supplies is so huge for the host countries that they may not afford it. The United States, for instance, have to destroy many tons of excess wheat every year, because even if they provide at zero price, the receiving nations could not afford the cargo charges. Thus, it is clear why food is being wasted in different regions of the world and people are left with their stomach unfilled. In addition, when there is a war going on between nations, a more aggressive country might not allow others to provide basic amenities, including food and medicines supplies. One classic example of Israeli and Palestinian conflict, where, during the wartime, many cargo ships containing food items were not letting in and as a result, many people had suffered from hunger and disease. In order to combat the above issues, developed nations and world bank, which has a mission to eradicate poverty from the face of the world, should play their part. They can provide interest-free loans to underprivileged nations so developing countries could pay the shipment charges and can take the benefits of free food supplies. By this way, we could help humanity and create harmony among different countries which is crucial for the long term economic development and survival of the human race. Furthermore, the United Nations should devote more resources to conflict resolutions. They can place various legislative measure and sign treaties which should state that no matter what people should not be deprived of basic human rights such as food. Therefore, if we can take the above actions, the food shortage can be resolved. To conclude, with the help of science and technology, we are able to achieve huge advances in the field of agriculture. However, we could not resolve the basic issue of food shortage because of political unrest and wars between countries and some nations could not even afford to pay cargo charges for the food. I suggest that prestigious institutions, such as the United Nations and the World Bank, should play their part to resolve this issue.