It is argued that the parents of children who break the rules should be punished in some ways as parents are responsible for the children's actions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is some argument that whether parents should take responsibilities and receive punishments for their children ’s offences or not. Although I believe that parents are majorly responsible for their offsprings’ actions, I still strongly argue that lawbreakers should be punished to some extent regardless of their age. First of all, I support the view that it is parents who should be punished when their children get involved in illegal activities because there are increasing cases of youth crime stemming from the lack of parental attention and care. These days, modern parents seem to devote all their time working and earning a living, which means that they have to leave their children for their grandparents or let them take care of themselves. Lacking love and education from parents can have some detrimental effects on children ’s mental and psychological developments. To illustrate, many teenagers who grow up from dysfunctional or busy families are likely to have antisocial behaviours or use violence to solve their problems as a way to hide their vulnerability and sufferings. However, I still hold a firm belief that children who commit crimes should also receive deserving punishments. Firstly, when young offenders are punished with having custody or serving community service, they can deeply understand the serious consequences of their actions and feel regretful about their crimes. By conducting punishments, young children can be well-educated about the cost of crime committing as well as avoid making the same mistakes in the future. Secondly, if parents have to be responsible for all illegal actions of their offspring, it somehow creates a misleading perspective among children. In particular, they believe that every mistake they make has no influence on themselves since their parents will take responsibility for those wrongdoings. This, hence, would increase the rate of juvenile delinquency in society in the long run. In conclusion, I am convinced that wrong actions of children should be partly blamed for the parental duties, yet young criminals should be punished for their offences in order to maintain justice and the low rate of youth crime in society.