Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

A percentage of the population believes that youngsters can focus on the fields they like most while others argue that they must give importance to the courses like engineering, software that will be fruitful to them for their upcoming life. Although it is true that those studies provide guaranteed employment, my opinion is inclined towards pursuing favourite topics. This essay looks into both the views in terms of motivational factors and job opportunity. Firstly, there is an assurance of a job when the major is based on information technology at university as there are vast requirements for this sector across the world. An Individual gets employment through campus with good salary initially, later he has been sent for onsite work to abroad. One of my school friends, for example, completed his Masters in Computer Application in 2014 and got placed in a multinational company in the same year with around Rs.25,000/-, now he is earning in dollars and is a green card holder in the USA. He is living a luxurious and happy life with his family. Therefore, preference can be given to the subjects that are of high-value today than one’s passion in today’s world. On the other hand, even though big payment fulfils all the desires of a person, it fails to give the satisfaction of what he is doing because this is not what he wants. There is a constant motivation towards his work as it is derived from his work gratification. A youngster who is interested in cooking, for instance, chooses catering as his career and brings more creative ideas in that field and success follows him. He will be the happiest person in the world probably than the highest-earning person, even if he fetches less. Hence, it is good to encourage to take up the desirable study. In conclusion, I would say that a person can shine in his life only when he is satisfied with his mind and heart. So, he has to study whichever he finds interesting than the risk-free course.