Some countries are struggling with increases in crime rates. Some believe that having more police on the streets is best way to reduce and combat crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many countries are grappling with the best way to curb the rising crime rates and some people suggest that the increased police presence is the best option. While it is possible that the number of criminals would be diminished by this way for some reasons, I would argue that the optimal solution is to eliminate root causes through education.  It is undeniable that employing more police officers would have an adverse effect on offenders. As criminals have a tendency to commit crimes in places with little supervision and protection, people who bypass these areas are prone to become victims of them. Therefore, if authorities placed more police officers everywhere, even in remote places to monitor and combat criminals, this would lead to the loss of ideal environments for criminals to do wicked things. For this reason, individuals think that having more police officers is the most effective solution. However, this method can only be suitable in the short term as a higher portion of funds is required to strengthen security forces, which further adds to the current national budget in poor countries. There is growing evidence that the principle causes of crime are related to education indirectly and poverty more directly. Taking Japan, which is one of the safest countries in the world, as an example. Thanks to having a renowned educational system, which equips children with practical and employable skills, many Japanese graduates can land a decent job after leaving universities. Since they have money to afford a good standard of living, there is little incentive for criminal behavior and the crime rate in this country is among the lowest in the world. In conclusion, the best way to cope with the ever-increasing number of criminals in the long run is to invest more in education rather than paying for more police officers.