The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern life style. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Readily available food items have played a key role in helping individuals maintain pace with the demands of the present-day lifestyle. Even though it is easier to attain and it gives people some time to focus on their things, in my opinion, the adverse harms it causes does overshadow the benefits it has. On the one hand, convenience food items are easily available, thus are sought after. One does not have to go through a lot of trouble in order to arrange a meal as these processed eatables are offered off the shelf. In other words, “Ready to eat”, as it is often referred to, does not require to be cooked making it the go-to choice for someone who does not wish to be bothered to do so. Furthermore, another reason as to why it may appeal to the masses is that, since it does not require to be cooked, it saves time. People who are on a time constraint can consume it and have their full, while still managing to not spend long hours behind it. On the other hand, all these advantages come at a cost of a person’s well-being. Firstly, the consumption of such foods has adverse effects on health, as the nutritional factors in them are largely compromised. As an example, studies have shown that these eatables contain high contents of fats and sugars, which when consumed in large quantities, bring about a variety of health issues. Secondly, they play a key role in making individuals lazy. As attaining and consuming processed foods do not require many efforts, it motivates people to always opt for it in order to escape the hard work and therefore altering their mindset against putting in an effort. To sum it up, in my opinion, the cost of one’s well-being and a healthy active lifestyle are too big of a price to pay for saving some extra hours and consuming an easy meal. Due to this, I firmly believe that the disadvantages greatly outweigh the advantages.