Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in zoos. Others believe that there are good reasons for having zoos. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, the question is whether zoos should exist is a highly debatable one. While some argue that it is cruel to keep animals in zoological parks, other people claim that these organisations have many beneficial aspects. The following essay will examine both these statements, and I will also explain why I believe they are an effective option for the protection of rare species. To begin with, one nuance which detracts from the positive aspects of zoos is the factor that it is not natural for wild animals to live in captivity. To put it differently, some zoological parks house their species in small enclosures, so it can potentially entail the loss of their natural instincts and habits. To illustrate this point, urban zoos usually do not have enough space to recreate natural ecosystems, and their habitats do not have the possibility to roam and enjoy their life. Thus, the existence of such places is against the rights of these majestic creatures, as they are deprived of their liberty. On the other hand, recently, a multitude of zoological parks have shifted their emphasis to the conservation of endangered species. In other words, they have created special programmes for the captive breeding, which can potentially halt the decrease of the population of many rare animals. As a case in point, Fuji Safari park plays a significant role in the protection of local animals, as its keepers have launched a variety of projects, which are aimed at saving and releasing local creatures into the wild. From my point of view, such programmes are crucial due to the fact that they help to tackle the possessing environmental issue. In conclusion, the pressing social dilemma regarding zoos existence is all too familiar nowadays. Whereas critics of these places claim that they are against the rights of wild species, I totally believe that they have an important mission to conserve endangered species.