Some people believe that technology has made the lives of workers easier whilst other people disagree. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advancements in the technological world, some people argue that it has paved a way for the workers to work smoothly. While others say that, on the contrary, it has increased difficulties for the daily wagers. In my perspective, the technology has been both, advantageous and perilous at the same time and the reasons for my partial agreement are analyzed in the further essay. To begin with the argument in favour of technological boom, I think machines have made easier and quicker as well as safer to work in factories and mines. Such as, the extraction of coal has become safer after the invention of extractors and even robots, which reduced human labour. In fact, the physical injuries and death ratios have plummeted to a great extent after such discoveries in technology. For example, a survey conducted by the Ministry of coal in India revealed that in the year 2019 the death rate in coal mines has reduced by 67% as compared to the year 1960 when there were no machines. Thus, technical growth has benefitted human immensely. In contrast, there are also a few major drawbacks like the increasing rate of unemployment. Presently, robots are replacing human in many fields, majorly in cloth and chemical industries. Moreover, Artificial intelligence is reducing the need of human brain and efforts, as the technology caters the easy options to operate or even establish any new system. For example, the self-driven cars are in vogue, where there is no need of drivers anymore, the in-built features in a car can smartly drive itself on busy roads. This way, the years of experience of a driver washes away and they become unemployed. Hence, this is a major side-effect of the shift towards computer-enabled systems. In conclusion, I partially agree with the fact that technology has made the lives of workers easy. Somehow, it has definitely negatively affected the current employment status.