Some people think basic healthcare should be free for everyone. Others believe people should pay their own medical costs. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Primary healthcare is one of the most critical components of a healthy, prosperous society. However, because of its high cost, there is an ongoing debate as to whether it should be free or whether individuals should be responsible for paying their health fees. On the one hand, the belief that basic healthcare should be virtually free is reinforced by two major reasons, one of which is that health is a fundamental requirement for a functional society. Therefore, their governments should front the bill for medical services. Another impetus for this is the sheer unaffordability of well-being services. While wealthier people may effortlessly pay out of their own pocket without too much trouble, the more impoverished may skip going to doctors even when necessary because they cannot afford it. This acts as a catalyst for a less wholesome society, overall. On the other hand, despite the aforementioned motivations to providing free healthcare for everyone, there is strong justification as to why it should be paid for by the individuals who use it. One argument is that having to pay for one's own medical services creates an incentive to stay sane. For example, individuals who feel that they may receive medical care without any charge or fee are less likely to take care of themselves. Another related vindication is that those adopting healthy living should not be subsidizing the clinic expenditure for those who make poorer lifestyle choices. That is, a person who exercises every day should not have their taxes used for the health costs of a person who refuses to exercise out of laziness. In conclusion, the merits of charging healthcare fee overshadow the demerits as it brings about higher accountability for one's life. Moreover, I feel that an ideal solution is for governments to work to diminish the costs of medical services so that everyone can afford it. If we can fix the affordability problems without removing the incentives to stay healthy, we will be better off in the near future.