The best way to reduce traffic congestion in cities is to provide a free public transport service.To what extend do you agree or disagree to this solution with relevant example

The rising trend of four-wheeler usages by most of us has created a detrimental effect in the environment such as polluting the air and also traffic congestion. Some debate that the principal solution to this problem could be to provide free public transportation services to the citizens. It could be strongly disagreed that the aforementioned way out cannot be a perfect one and this essay will explain the reasons with few illustrations. Firstly, owing to the incessantly growing population, facilitating transit to everybody free of cost becomes unrealistic in most of the nations. Government authorities are already finding it difficult to commission and maintain buses and trains, in spite of imposing travel charges to travellers. On top of this, if they decide to run these services absolutely without any cost, the funds would exhaust in no time and there might be a threat of completely shutting down the system. For example, in one of the states in India, with a positive motto, commenced providing concession for school students who travel by bus. Unfortunately, after a few months, the local department incurred a massive loss and could not continue to do so. Furthermore, collecting a reasonable tax from the personal vehicle users based on the luxury car types could be thought as an alternative solution to the harrowing traffic problem. By doing so, few individuals may avoid driving their own automotive, rather reckon to utilize public buses or trains to commute. Also, if the government transportation system is sophisticated and connects various important stops in and around the city, many people would be attracted to use one. For instance, in Malaysia, as the metro train system is constructed across the city to meet main centres in and around, most of the local crowd prefer going by such trains. In conclusion, the alarming issue of traffic all over the world has become very common. Prominent ways to overcome such issue can be to impose a considerate tax on personal vehicles and also to assist civilians with effective and efficient public transit which can be charged, instead of giving service, with no cost, which may not be long lasting.